Early Literacy

​There are limitless ways in which children begin to experience reading and writing. At the Children’s Centre we foster the child’s natural curiosity to explore this through a variety of mediums.

​A child’s letter to her mom.
Juniper quietly sat to draw a picture for her mom who was away for the first time. 
She volunteered this explanation while drawing : It’s a letter for my mom, I wish mommy comes home this day. I love mom. I wish we could facetime. I know I miss you.
In early care and learning we recognize that lines and scribbles represent a natural stage to reading and writing as well as developing hand-eye coordination.
Having meaningful relationships with “messaging” creates an innate desire to learn how to communicate with letters later on.

A Christmas decoration.
A child brought me over to our decorated Christmas tree. She proudly stated, “This is my cousin’s decoration. See, he made it because it has three H’s, for his name, Hudson."
Hudson is 3 years old and was excited to recognize the first initial of his name in the basket of Christmas decoration choices.

Previous
Previous

A Waterfall

Next
Next

The Children’s Fall Tree